Ackbar in the novels

Admiral Ackbar has been featured in a number of Star Wars books. This blog post will focus on the novels – check back for other Ackbar books, including comics, later!

First of all, of course, we have the novelization of Return of the Jedi by James Kahn, first published in 1983, the same year as ROTJ’s theatrical release. A full list of Ackbar-related novels follows…

An entry in bold indicates a book that I personally own a copy of. An asterisk (*) indicates a book that only mentions Ackbar, without actually featuring him as a character.

2010: The Force Unleashed II (novelization), by Sean Williams

1983: Return of the Jedi (novelization), by James Kahn

1994: The Truce at Bakura, by Kathy Tyers

1996: X-Wing: Rogue Squadron, by Michael A. Stackpole
1996: X-Wing: Wedge’s Gamble, by Michael A. Stackpole
1996: X-Wing: The Krytos Trap, by Michael A. Stackpole
1997: X-Wing: The Bacta War, by Michael A. Stackpole

1998: X-Wing: Wraith Squadron, by Aaron Allston
1998: X-Wing: Iron Fist, by Aaron Allston
1999: X-Wing: Solo Command, by Aaron Allston

1991: Heir to the Empire, by Timothy Zahn
1992: Dark Force Rising, by Timothy Zahn
1993: The Last Command, by Timothy Zahn

1999: X-Wing: Isard’s Revenge, by Michael A. Stackpole

1994: Jedi Search, by Kevin J. Anderson
1994: Dark Apprentice, by Kevin J. Anderson (Ackbar’s on the cover!)
1994: Champions of the Force, by Kevin J. Anderson

*1998: I, Jedi, by Michael A. Stackpole

*1999: X-Wing: Starfighters of Adumar, by Aaron Allston

1995: Children of the Jedi, by Barbara Hambly
1995: Darksaber, by Kevin J. Anderson.

1996: Before the Storm, by Michael P. Kube-McDowell
1996: Shield of Lies, by Michael P. Kube-McDowell
1996: Tyrant’s Test, by Michael P. Kube-McDowell

1996: The New Rebellion, by Kristine Kathryn Rusch

1995: Assault at Selonia, by Roger MacBride Allen
1995: Showdown at Centerpoint, by Roger MacBride Allen

*1999: The New Jedi Order: Vector Prime, by R.A. Salvatore
*2000: The New Jedi Order: Dark Tide II: Ruin, by Michael A. Stackpole
*2000: The New Jedi Order: Agents of Chaos II: Jedi Eclipse, by James Luceno
*2001: The New Jedi Order: Star by Star, by Troy Denning
*2002: The New Jedi Order: Traitor, by Matthew Stover
2002: The New Jedi Order: Destiny’s Way, by Walter Jon Williams (Ackbar’s on the cover!)
*2003: The New Jedi Order: Force Heretic I: Remnant, by Shane Dix and Sean Williams
*2003: The New Jedi Order: The Unifying Force, by James Luceno

*2005: The Unseen Queen, by Troy Denning
*2005: The Swarm War, by Troy Denning

*2006: Legacy of the Force: Tempest, by Troy Denning
*2007: Legacy of the Force: Sacrifice, by Karen Traviss
*2007: Legacy of the Force: Fury, by Aaron Allston
*2008: Legacy of the Force: Revelation, by Karen Traviss

I will update this post as I find more Ackbar references in the Star Wars novels.


About Marissa

I'm a Star Wars fan and Admiral Ackbar enthusiast/collector.
This entry was posted in ackbar, books: novels, my collection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s