The Pennsylvania Star Wars Collecting Society fed my Ackbar addiction

I recently joined the Pennsylvania Star Wars Collecting Society. I just went to my first meeting, and made out like a bandit! A bandit with an inexplicable Ackbar fetish, that is!

Here’s a quick picture of what my collection looks like now:

I’ve also got some Ackbar trading cards and lots of tiny things you can’t even see in this picture. Tomorrow I’m planning on going out and buying a display shelf to better show off my Ackbar collection. Expect more blog posts soon with more detailed looks at all this Ackbar stuff!

My sincerest thanks to everyone at the PSWCS meeting who gave, traded, or sold me Ackbar things.

Until next time, watch out for traps, and concentrate all fire on that Super Star Destroyer!

About Marissa

I'm a Star Wars fan and Admiral Ackbar enthusiast/collector.
This entry was posted in ackbar, my collection, pswcs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pennsylvania Star Wars Collecting Society fed my Ackbar addiction

  1. mffanrodders says:

    Bah, i don’t know anyone who collects Star Wars and so must collect alone. 😦

    May i ask what made you focus on Admiral Ackbar?

    • Marissa says:

      Well, it actually started early this very year. I’ve been a Star Wars fan since I was a kid, but I’ve only been collecting Ackbar for about 9 months! A buddy of mine bought me the Gentle Giant Ackbar mini-bust for my birthday in January, along with a LEGO Ackbar keychain. As I started gathering more Ackbars, the same friend suggested I start a blog about it. If she had bought me a different character, things might have gone very differently…

      I know most Ackbar-related stuff on the internet involves trap jokes. As I’ve become a serious Ackbar collector, even though I still appreciate a good trap joke every now and then, I am hoping to show that there’s more to him than that! You’ll notice my blog has very few trap jokes. I’ve come to really appreciate Ackbar as the perfect character for a focus collection. I could never focus on a character like Darth Vader or Boba Fett — trying to collect all the toys of those guys would empty my wallet within a few hours! But Ackbar still has plenty of toys, unlike some of the more obscure background characters who only have one action figure. So there’s a neat balance between “there’s only one action figure of this guy” and “there were five hundred toys of this guy released in the last month alone.”

  2. mffanrodders says:

    Yeah, i can see that. Back when i was working out what my focus was going to be, i thought i’d go with Asajj Ventriss for similar reasons.

    Are you going to try and get the life size bust? (http://www.sideshowtoy.com/?page_id=4489&sku=400001&ref=search&&400001)

    • Marissa says:

      I’m actually not. Even if I had the money, I’m afraid something like that would hog the spotlight — who would bother to look at my small Ackbar figurines if I had a giant life-size Ackbar head on display? If I had a huge collection of Ackbar stuff of all sizes (and the money to spare, of course), I’d probably consider it, but that’s definitely looking ahead quite a bit… Right now I’m mostly interested in collecting smaller, cheaper things like the Topps dog tags and license plates, along with whatever action figures and toys I can find.

Leave a Reply

