Admiral Ackbar Doll – Best Thing Ever

BEHOLD.

This is absolutely the best Ackbar in my entire collection. Read on for the story behind it…

My friend Frantic Stenger lives in New Jersey, about two hours from me. (Closer to an hour thirty when the Jersey turnpike isn’t too trafficky, but when does THAT ever happen.) Because of the kinda long drive, the fact that I don’t own my own car, and that our schedules rarely match up, I don’t see her often.

I drove up there on Friday. She had been planning to make me a little Ackbar doll, possibly to mail to me, but she hadn’t started it yet. But between my arrival on Friday morning and my departure on Saturday night, the entire thing was complete, and rode with me on the way home, on the alert for traps.

It’s amazing. I don’t know where to begin. The googly eyes (and really, was a character ever more perfect for googly eyes than Ackbar?), the costume, the chin barbels… I am absolutely amazed by this, and if I hadn’t watched her make the whole thing, I would never have believed that it only took two days.

Here he is in progress, without eyes or clothes. Naked and blind.

And here he is, complete. Check out those chin barbels!

The chestplate even has the little grey rank badge. The chestplate is made of a thicker fabric than the rest of his clothing, so it really feels like “armor.”

Check out the rank badge.

The edges of his clothing were done with yellow embroidery thread, just like the real Ackbar costume has a yellow stripe down the sides!

Here’s the best part: two of the four belt boxes are actually little pouches! Not a lot can really fit in there, of course, but I did find that Ackbar can arm himself with LEGO Star Wars blasters. Functional pouches! How cool is that!?

Yep, those pouches work.

LEGO blasters fit!

And yes, you can email her at [o DOT charlotteoh AT gmail DOT com] for commissions. All pictures were taken by her, except the picture with the LEGO blasters, which was taken by me.

About Marissa

I'm a Star Wars fan and Admiral Ackbar enthusiast/collector.
This entry was posted in ackbar, companies: the lego group, fan-made, items: dolls, my collection. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Admiral Ackbar Doll – Best Thing Ever

  1. Frantic says:

    It’sa me! Ackbario!

    • Marissa says:

      You’re probably sick of hearing this by now, but thank you SO much for making the Ackbar doll. (I would’ve replied sooner, but I took a little break from Ackblogging until today.)

  2. Reanée says:

    ❤ GOOGLY EYED ACKY!!!!!!!

  3. mffanrodders says:

    LOL. I love these one off hand made items.

    Mighty Jabba pointed me in the direction of figurines by Ingrid on Etsy. She made me an incredible Millennium Falcon plush toy for my collection. It’s one of my favourite bits.

    http://mffanrodders.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/figurines-by-ingrid/

    • Marissa says:

      Oh, neat! I’m trying to limit my online purchases for the time being, I recently went on an Ackbar eBay spree and need some time to cool off before doing another one, but when I do, I’ll definitely be checking out some Etsy stuff! I love collecting all the licensed merchandise, but it’s also really nice to have handmade items that I can honestly say are unique to my collection.

Leave a Reply

